I see the value in the new feature rolled out by Ironclad where we can cancel completed workflows. However, I expected that when we cancel the completed workflow, the archived agreement in the repository associated with that workflow would also be deleted. However, this does not seem to be the case. So what does canceling a completed workflow actually do?
I just had a situation where we had an agreement with an individual counterparty and completed the workflow with the agreement being archived in the repository. But few days later, we determined the same agreement should have been entered with the individual's entity instead. So we went through a new workflow and completed that process. Then I cancelled the previous workflow, expecting the previous agreement in the repository to be deleted or voided. But nothing happened there so I manually deleted it from the repository. This begs the question: what's the intended effect of canceling completed workflow? Is it purely for recordkeeping purposes? I would have expected the resulting agreement to be deleted or, at minimum, marked as unenforceable in the repository.