Per Ironclad Support,
"All workflow assignments and reassignments happen when the workflow is launched, following the settings outlined in the configuration it's launched from. If a user is OOO at the time the workflow is launched and they have a role in the workflow such as Signature Coordinator, that role will be reassigned at launch even though the signature step happens later, and they might no longer be OOO when the workflow reaches the Sign step (documented here)."
Would suggest an adjustment to how the functionality works that there are clear start and end timestamps so if a user is back (not OOO) and a contract that launched while they were out has moved into a later phase, such as the signature step, since the individual is back it will be assigned to them if they have a role such as signature coordinator, archiver, etc.